The Spawn of Cthulhu by H.P. Lovecraft & Others

The Spawn of Cthulhu by H.P. Lovecraft & Others

The Spawn of Cthulhu is an anthology of short stories inspired by the Cthulhu mythos. The book contains one H.P. Lovecraft story, “The Whisperer in Darkness,” as well as 11 stories by other authors. The stories collected in the book are:

  • “The Whisperer in Darkness” by H.P. Lovecraft
  • “An Inhabitant of Carcosa” by Ambrose Bierce
  • “The Yellow Sign” by Robert W. Chambers
  • “Cordelia’s Song” by Vincent Starrett
  • “The Return of Hastur” by August Derleth
  • “Litany to Hastur” by Lin Carter
  • “The Children of the Night” by Robert E. Howard
  • “K’n-yan” by Walter C. Debill Jr.
  • “The Tale of Satampra Zeiros” by Clark Ashton Smith
  • “The Hounds of Tindalos” by Frank Belknap Long
  • “The Curse of Yig” by Zealia Brown Reed Bishop
  • “The Mine on Yuggoth” by Ramsey Campbell

This book was published in 1971 as part of the Ballatine Books Adult Fantasy Series. It is the 36th volume in the series and the fifth anthology.

The cover art was created by Gervasio Gallardo, who was Ballatine’s primary cover artist for a number of years. Gallardo, a Spanish painter with a strong surrealist style, also created covers for books like Evenor by George MacDonald and The Water of the Wondrous Isles by William Morris.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x