Sea Tales of Terror, Edited by J.J. Strating

Sea of Tales of Terror

Published in 1974 by Fontana Books, Sea Tales of Terror is a collection of nautically-themed horror tales. The stories in this collection were selected by editor J. J. Strating, who also worked on several other volumes in the Fontana Tales of Terror series. The collection primarily consists of older works; many of the tales were originally published in the 19th century.

This volume contains the following stories:

  • A Descent into the Maelström by Edgar Allan Poe
  • The Devil’s Rescue by L. Ron Hubbard
  • The Captain of the Polestar by Arthur Conan Doyle
  • Man Overboard! by Vicente Blasco Ibáñez
  • South Sea Bubble by Hammond Innes
  • Stowaway by Claire D. Pollexfen
  • Fog by James Hanley
  • Posted Missing by Bill Adams
  • I Have Been Drowned by Tom Hopkinson
  • The Story of the Haunted Ship by Wilhelm Hauff
  • The Fisherman of Falcon Point by H.P. Lovecraft and August Derleth
  • The Recall by Elinor Mordaunt
  • Markland the Hunter by Ronald Chetwynd-Hayes
  • The Death of the Sea by José María Gironella

The spooky skeletal cover is the work of artist Justin Todd. Todd was an accomplished painter that created artwork and covers for a number of children’s books, including The Wind in the Willows and Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIMH. Todd provided covers for eight of the titles in the Fontana Tales of Terror series.

Todd’s distinctive and colorful covers were created with gouache paint and tiny brushes. He outlined his work on a grid and painted covers one section at a time over a series of several days. In addition to illustrating books, Todd created art for calendars and cards. He taught at the Brighton School of Art for many years.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x